Portland Comic Expo 2014 Recap

pcexpo

Hello, everyone!

Well, convention season is coming to a close. I have one more show this year, which is DrawnCon in a few weeks. This last weekend I attended the Portland Comic Expo, and it was a lot of fun!

IMG_0496

Portland Comic Expo is a brand new show, and it was put on by the same folks who do MECAF every year. I’ve attended MECAF for the last four years, so I was very excited to go to this one!

The venue was large (a school gymnasium to be exact), and all the tables were spread out nicely. Rick Lowell of Casablanca Comics was on hand to make sure we were all comfortable and enjoying ourselves.

I met some very interesting people at the show, and had some great discussions with fans about Mega Man X, Zelda, and, of course, comics!

I also met some fellow artists at the con who were also peddling their wares. I wish I had be able to meet everyone, but here is a recap on some of them (the ones I have business cards for, at least).

Brenna Killeen, a fellow artist at the show, does some great slice-of-life comics, and agrees with me that the Zelda franchise has become stale! Kate Brezzy does a lot of journal comics, and has a book titled “I Don’t Know What I’m Doing!” That’s something I can relate to sometimes! Joe Dax had some amazing fan art at his table, along with some cool looking comics, of course! Amanda Boucher had some beautiful prints for sale, and does her own webcomic called “Vampire Boyfriend.”

Last but not least, T.J. Dort and Joe Haley do a comic series called “The Underburbs,” and I picked up their first issue. I wanted to buy everything at their table, but alas I had to save my rupees.

That’s it for me for now! Don’t forget that I’m going to be at DranCon November 15-16 in Westford, MA. Come see me, and let me draw stuff for you!

Until next time!

 

 

Leave a Reply

